daisy’s one year adoption-versary

366 days ago Steven and I came across a pet adoption event while we were walking to the farmer’s market – well played, pet non-profit, well played – and we stopped to play with the pups… and then spent the rest of the morning talking about how cute the dogs were and how much we couldn’t wait to adopt one. But, when we started to go through the usual excuses for why we shouldn’t adopt a dog – working odd hours, non dog-friendly apartment, budget restrictions, etc. – we found they were no longer true. We had finally turned into responsible adults! So we did the most responsible thing ever: we immediately drove to the West LA Animal Shelter to find a dog.

Daisy had some good adoption game. When we walked by her cage that she shared with another dog, she was sitting quietly at the front. She didn’t move a muscle while all the other dogs barked and jumped when we walked by. She just gave us this look that said, “Adopt me. I’m so well-behaved and adorable.” We totally fell for it.

They brought her into the play area so we could interact with her. The first thing she did was grab a toy that was left there and run up to the fence to say hi to a dog that was on the other side. Her tail wagged the whole time. When she finally came over to us, she jumped in my lap and kissed my face in a frenzy. We signed the papers right then and there.

Our first picture! (At the shelter) #casitabythesea

Our first picture! (At the shelter)

They had originally told us that she had already been spayed but when they did her exit exam they found out that she had not. We couldn’t take her home that day. We were so sad. Luckily they were able to schedule her for the next day and we could bring her home right after her surgery. We gave her a hug and kiss and headed over to the pet store to drain our savings on pet supplies and treats – only the best for our lil cheagle!

A little recap of her first year with us…

The day we brought her home one year ago today! #casitabythesea

The day we brought her home one year ago today!

We learned very quickly how to cheagle-proof our apartment. This dried starfish was her first casualty - she ate three of the legs while we were at work. #casitabythesea

We learned very quickly how to cheagle-proof our apartment. This dried starfish was her first casualty – she ate three of the legs while we were at work.

Shortly after this picture was taken was her first trip to the vet ER. She had eaten some medicine and had to get charcoal treatment. We think she found the meds under the couch. #casitabythesea

Shortly after this picture was taken was her first trip to the vet ER. She had eaten some medicine and had to get charcoal treatment. We think she found the meds under the couch.

Chasing the kitty was her absolute favorite! #casitabythesea

Chasing the kitty was her absolute favorite!

She loved visiting her dad at work and untying his employees shoes every time they walked by. #casitabythesea

She loved visiting her dad at work and untying his employees shoes every time they walked by.

She destroyed darth vader and made it rain with his stuffings! #casitabythesea

She destroyed darth vader and made it rain with his stuffings!

Snuggles! #casitabythesea

Snuggles!

Her first report card! #casitabythesea

Her first report card!

After a walk, she started blowing up with hives. Steven was in a job interview when it happened so I was left to try to get her to swallow benadryl all by myself. I lost half of a fingernail. #casitabythesea

After a walk, she started blowing up with hives. Steven was in a job interview when it happened so I was left to try to get her to swallow benadryl all by myself. I lost half of a fingernail.

Her first shoe casualty. My favorite pair. #casitabythesea

Her first shoe casualty. My favorite pair.

Dancing with me on my birthday. #casitabythesea

Dancing with me on my birthday.

Snuggling with Steven after the hives incident. #casitabythesea

Snuggling with Steven after the hives incident.

She tried on my baby bonnet and LOVED it. #casitabythesea

She tried on my baby bonnet and LOVED it.

Daisy loves her monster. #casitabythesea

Daisy loves her monster.

She comforted me after I had my first dental filling. #casitabythesea

She comforted me after I had my first dental filling.

Graduation day! #casitabythesea

Graduation day!

For her first birthday, we got her a little sister. She was not pleased. #casitabythesea

For her first birthday, we got her a little sister. She was not pleased.

Adopting Daisy was the most impulsive, yet life-affirming decision I have ever made. She makes everything better :) #casitabythesea

Adopting Daisy was the most impulsive, yet life-affirming decision I have ever made. She makes everything better 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

