sunchoke & goat cheese pizza

The first three years of my college life were spent working part-time at a pizza joint on-campus. It was the best job I ever had and I made some amazing friends. I also now know how to properly slap out pizza dough.

the first step is to proof the dough. proofing allows the dough to rise. dough that is properly proofed will be pliable enough to shape and will make an excellent crust. i usually put flour on my pizza bake sheet and leave the dough there for about 20 minutes. i use the 20 minutes to get out other ingredients (sunchokes, sage, heirloom tomato, lemon pepper goat cheese, grapeseed oil, and olive oil).

the first step is to proof the dough. proofing allows the dough to rise. dough that is properly proofed will be pliable enough to shape and will make an excellent crust. i usually put flour on my pizza bake sheet and leave the dough there for about 20 minutes. i use the 20 minutes to get out other ingredients (sunchokes, sage, heirloom tomato, lemon pepper goat cheese, grapeseed oil, and olive oil).

 

while the dough is proofing, I chop up the sunchokes and sage to saute in grapeseed oil. I also chopped up the heirloom tomato. it is pretty late in the season for good tomatoes but we have had some odd weather in LA this fall so I got lucky with this one.

while the dough is proofing, I chop up the sunchokes and sage to saute in grapeseed oil. I also chopped up the heirloom tomato. it is pretty late in the season for good tomatoes but we have had some odd weather in LA this fall so I got lucky with this one.

 

I set the sauteed sunchokes and the chopped tomato aside to then slap out the dough. to start, I make sure it is well-floured on all sides.

I set the sauteed sunchokes and the chopped tomato aside to then slap out the dough. to start, I make sure it is well-floured on all sides.

 

then, I use my fingertips to press into the dough to define the crust.

then, I use my fingertips to press into the dough to define the crust.

 

to continue the crust, I use my left hand to hold the dough and my right hand to stretch it away.

to continue the crust, I use my left hand to hold the dough and my right hand to stretch it away.

 

once my crust is defined, i am ready to toss it to stretch it to size.

once my crust is defined, i am ready to toss it to stretch it to size.

 

to toss the dough, I toss it from my left hand to my right and gently stretch it until it is the best size.

to toss the dough, I toss it from my left hand to my right and gently stretch it until it is the best size.

 

if there are sections of the dough that are thicker than others after tossing it, then try to stretch the dough in the thicker areas. the goal is to get the same thickness so that the pizza cooks consistently in all areas.

if there are sections of the dough that are thicker than others after tossing it, then try to stretch the dough in the thicker areas. the goal is to get the same thickness so that the pizza cooks consistently in all areas.

 

before adding your toppings, drizzle olive oil and use a spatula to evenly spread the oil over the entire pizza.

before adding your toppings, drizzle olive oil and use a spatula to evenly spread the oil over the entire pizza.

 

add the toppings so that each bite a a little bit of everything and leave the cheese for last.

add the toppings so that each bite a a little bit of everything and leave the cheese for last.

 

enjoy.

enjoy.

 

 

One thought on “sunchoke & goat cheese pizza

  1. Pingback: farmer’s market pizza: cheddar cauliflower edition | casita~by~the~sea

Leave a Reply

