farmers market finds – fall edition

My favorite time of the week is Sunday morning. I roll out of bed, grab my tote wheelie, and head down to the farmers market. I like to go right when they open and there are not many people there yet. I walk along the beach to get there so I get to breathe in the salt air and see the beach sand still untouched. It is a beautiful, calming way to start the day.

Sometimes I plan recipes and go armed with a list but mainly I opt to go and see what is looking fresh and yummy.

what $40 gets you at the farmers' market in november.

what $40 gets you at the farmers’ market in november.

 

Yummy citrus for snacks at work; cabbage and leeks for soup; carrots and onions for stew; sunchokes and goat cheese for a veggie pizza; and a few extras for some cooking creativity. Check back later this week for details on the sunchoke pizza 🙂

 

a word on food safety: have separate, well-labeled cutting boards for meat, poultry, and produce. same goes for cooked and raw.

a word on food safety: have separate, well-labeled cutting boards for meat, poultry, and produce. same goes for cooked and raw.

 

supplies for the stew. cut off the carrot greens and save them for another recipe. my favorite way to use carrot greens is in tomato soup. a former roommate introduced me to an immersion blender to blend greens into soups and I have never looked back!  blending greens into soups does not really impact the flavor and makes the soup much more nutrient dense.

supplies for the stew. cut off the carrot greens and save them for another recipe. my favorite way to use carrot greens is in tomato soup. a former roommate introduced me to an immersion blender to blend greens into soups and I have never looked back! blending greens into soups does not really impact the flavor and makes the soup much more nutrient dense.

 

 

 

 

One thought on “farmers market finds – fall edition

  1. Pingback: farmer’s market meal planning | casita~by~the~sea

Leave a Reply

